BMW will bring four new models to the 2015 Los Angeles Auto Show


The Los Angeles Auto Show doesn’t start until November 18, but automakers are already giving the public some insight as to what to expect on the show floor. This week, BMW announced that four models will make their North American debuts in LA, with design focus ranging from performance to technology to fuel economy.

In addition to the four models below, the automaker will roll out several other models that have already been shown off in the United States, including the refreshed 2016 3 Series, the electric i3 and the plug-in hybrid supercar i8. The X5 xDrive40e plug-in hybrid will also make an appearance.

BMW 330e


The ‘e’ in 330e doesn’t stand for electricity, but rather the Greek letter eta. BMW uses this designation for cars designed with fuel efficiency in mind, and it doesn’t get much more efficient than a plug-in hybrid. Combining an electric motor and a turbocharged four-cylinder engine, the 330e puts out 248 horsepower and will reach 60 mph in 5.9 seconds — not bad for a car that should achieve 373 miles on a single tank of gas. In all-electric mode, the Bimmer will cover approximately 25 miles at speeds up to 75 mph.

On-sale date: Spring 2016


2016 BMW X1

For its second generation, BMW’s littlest crossover morphs from a quasi-wagon to a miniature carbon copy of its larger stablemates. At launch, the X1’s only power train option will be a 2.0-liter turbocharged four-cylinder mated to all-wheel drive — output is a modest 228 horsepower and 258 pound-feet of torque. Changing the X1’s shape allowed BMW to add a bunch of interior space for cargo, both human and inanimate.

BMW 7 Series

2016 BMW 7 Series

If technology is what you’re after, the all-new 7 Series absolutely delivers. Its chassis utilizes carbon fiber, the infotainment system has gesture controls and the key fob has its own screen. In non-US markets, the car will also park itself without a driver inside. For more efficiency, active shutters in the front grilles cut down on air resistance. At launch, buyers will have a choice between six- and eight-cylinder engines.